Perhaps the most important new thing I note is that Pro Football Reference now has play by play data, and ways to display those data as a CSV format. Creating parsers for the data would be work, but that means that advanced stats are now accessible to the average fan.

In Ubuntu 16.04, PDL::Stats is now a standard Ubuntu package and so the standard PDL installation can be used with my scripts. About the only thing you need to use CPAN for, at this point, is installing Sport::Analytics::SimpleRanking.

At work I use a lot of Python these days. I have not had time to rethink all this into Pythonese. But I’m curious, as the curve fitting tools in Python are better/different than those in Perl.

Football diagrams: Although the Perl module Graphics::Magick isn’t a part of CPAN, graphicsmagick and libgraphics-magick-perl are part of the Ubuntu repositories.